Case Page Layouts
Cases have two page layout types:
1. Case Page Layout
This layout is used except when closing a case (this includes viewing and editing previously closed cases):
2. Case Closed Page Layout
This layout is only used when closing a case (via the “Close Case” button pictured above).
Each case status can be declared a “Closed” status:
By default, closed case statuses can only be selected from the “Case Closed Page Layout” (as shown above).
Why is this important?
Use the “Case Closed Page Layout” to ensure that all required information is captured before a case is closed. Since the case closed layout is separate, you can make fields required when closing a case that are not required when creating a case.
Don’t like this behavior?
You don’t have to use the case closed page layout. Simply check “Show Closed Statuses in Case Status Field” under support settings (Setup –> Customize –> Cases –> Support Settings). Then remove the “Close Case” button from the case page layout.